Author Topic: UIInput Question & Unity Remote  (Read 2309 times)

Saxi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
UIInput Question & Unity Remote
« on: July 21, 2014, 11:43:53 PM »
Is there anyway to test UIInput over Unity Remote?  When I tried it, it would allow you to click on the input and would flash the cursor but no way to get a keyboard to enter anything.  (Tried using Android Unity Remote 4).

Is there anyway to use UIInput to enter in a crossword square without the giant input box showing up (and just have a keyboard show up and allow you to enter character inside of a square).

Here is what I am seeing when testing on Android device:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/z7hcujh8f10lkfl/2014-07-22_00-31-53.MP4

This is more what I want to happen, but with the keyboard showing up to enter text.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/ylj1hb501e8mpwi/2014-07-22_00-34-59.MP4


ArenMook

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 337
  • -Receive: 1171
  • Posts: 22,128
  • Toronto, Canada
    • View Profile
Re: UIInput Question & Unity Remote
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2014, 08:44:31 PM »
Unity Remote sends both touch and mouse events from a single action, which confuses the app. You would have to disable either touches or mouse events on the UICamera.

Saxi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: UIInput Question & Unity Remote
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2014, 08:46:57 PM »
Unity Remote sends both touch and mouse events from a single action, which confuses the app. You would have to disable either touches or mouse events on the UICamera.

Is there anyway around the large input text box? 

ArenMook

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 337
  • -Receive: 1171
  • Posts: 22,128
  • Toronto, Canada
    • View Profile
Re: UIInput Question & Unity Remote
« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2014, 11:28:24 PM »
You can make the input box smaller by changing Max Lines to 1 on the label. You can hide it completely by checking the "Hide Input" option on the UIInput.

Saxi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: UIInput Question & Unity Remote
« Reply #4 on: July 23, 2014, 12:24:41 PM »
You can make the input box smaller by changing Max Lines to 1 on the label. You can hide it completely by checking the "Hide Input" option on the UIInput.

Hide Input was exactly what I needed.  Thanks!!