Author Topic: Tasharen Water  (Read 67828 times)

ArenMook

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 337
  • -Receive: 1171
  • Posts: 22,149
  • Toronto, Canada
    • View Profile
Re: Tasharen Water
« Reply #15 on: August 07, 2012, 10:17:43 PM »
And it's positively with 1.2? o_O

catacomber

  • Guest
Re: Tasharen Water
« Reply #16 on: August 07, 2012, 10:19:20 PM »
Yes. I created a new scene. Deleted the old stuff. Saved. Created a new scene added the new stuff. Saved. Let me try it again. 

catacomber

  • Guest
Re: Tasharen Water
« Reply #17 on: August 07, 2012, 10:28:24 PM »
I'm still pink. Not enough temporary registers---need 9, compiling for flash at line 437 but I'm not compiling for flash. I added the demo scene to the build and built it and compiled it for Windows and I'm still pink.

I'm ok with this---I realize the depths and shadows would work best on pro. If you can fix it for basic that's good but I'm not stressed. I'll file it away for later.
« Last Edit: August 07, 2012, 10:33:37 PM by catacomber »

ArenMook

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 337
  • -Receive: 1171
  • Posts: 22,149
  • Toronto, Canada
    • View Profile
Re: Tasharen Water
« Reply #18 on: August 07, 2012, 10:32:35 PM »
Is the "not enough registers" warning the only thing you see? Or is it an error for you? Reason I ask is that it was a warning for me that has since disappeared.

catacomber

  • Guest
Re: Tasharen Water
« Reply #19 on: August 07, 2012, 10:37:08 PM »
It's an error in the inspector if I click on Tasharen water under water---the shader with the $ sign on it.

It does disappear as a warning but I'm still pink.
« Last Edit: August 07, 2012, 10:39:43 PM by catacomber »

catacomber

  • Guest
Re: Tasharen Water
« Reply #20 on: August 07, 2012, 10:43:50 PM »
If this requires Unity Pro, don't knock yourself out. I'll just wait until I feel comfortable enough with Unity to get it.

:  )

You do wonderful work. I'm quite happy with what I have for NGUI and your other extension, except waiting for quests added to Windward.  :  ) 

Just put the Requires Unity Pro thinger in the description and leave it.  :  ) 
« Last Edit: August 07, 2012, 10:46:47 PM by catacomber »

ArenMook

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 337
  • -Receive: 1171
  • Posts: 22,149
  • Toronto, Canada
    • View Profile
Re: Tasharen Water
« Reply #21 on: August 07, 2012, 10:45:27 PM »
It bugs me though, I must get it working everywhere. :P

I'm installing Unity on my Macbook Air right now...

catacomber

  • Guest
Re: Tasharen Water
« Reply #22 on: August 07, 2012, 10:48:44 PM »
I hope you don't have Mountain Lion.  :  )  Look at the reviews.  :  )  I think I'll keep Lion on my mac for a good long while.  :  )

If Steve Jobs were alive, I'm sure the reviews of Mountain Lion would bug him to the point that heads would roll.  You can delete this post--it's just conversational.
« Last Edit: August 07, 2012, 10:50:48 PM by catacomber »

ArenMook

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 337
  • -Receive: 1171
  • Posts: 22,149
  • Toronto, Canada
    • View Profile
Re: Tasharen Water
« Reply #23 on: August 07, 2012, 11:10:11 PM »
Nope, I picked it up about a month before mountain lion -- as soon as they released the updated lineup. :)

ArenMook

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 337
  • -Receive: 1171
  • Posts: 22,149
  • Toronto, Canada
    • View Profile
Re: Tasharen Water
« Reply #24 on: August 08, 2012, 12:35:51 AM »
Alright, good news... turns out it was a simple oversight on my part -- GrabPass doesn't work on Unity Free, and although it wasn't actually used, just having it there in the shader was confusing Unity. 1.3 should work fine.

I've also noticed that the average number of draw calls for the demo scene is hovering at around 30, making me wonder what iOS/Android performance would be like...

catacomber

  • Guest
Re: Tasharen Water
« Reply #25 on: August 08, 2012, 10:46:00 AM »
I can check it tonight. Thank you!  ; )

catacomber

  • Guest
Re: Tasharen Water
« Reply #26 on: August 08, 2012, 09:49:49 PM »
This looks really good now. Here's a current screenshot after updating and after updating Unity to 3.5.5 tonight.

The water appears to have lights and wave movement and depths and i'm using Unity Basic.  :  )

Huzzah! It looks better than my screenshot can show.  :  )

Haven't tried it on ios or android yet but will give it a shot this week.  : 
« Last Edit: August 08, 2012, 09:58:00 PM by catacomber »

ArenMook

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 337
  • -Receive: 1171
  • Posts: 22,149
  • Toronto, Canada
    • View Profile
Re: Tasharen Water
« Reply #27 on: August 08, 2012, 09:56:35 PM »
Yup that's how it looks on Unity Basic. It's missing the depth-based colors, so there is no way to do soft edges. :|

catacomber

  • Guest
Re: Tasharen Water
« Reply #28 on: August 08, 2012, 10:01:17 PM »
I do have some green color that is different from the blue and blends into it in some places---it looks really nice. To get something like this in Unity Basic is all one could ask I think.  :  )  And considering that the Pro version is undoubtedly gorgeous based on the web demo-----I think you should be very proud of your work--- 
« Last Edit: August 08, 2012, 10:13:56 PM by catacomber »

wangzy_88

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
Re: Tasharen Water
« Reply #29 on: February 05, 2013, 01:03:16 AM »
I found it like standard water and work well on pc,but seems slow on mobile.