Author Topic: Best practice with dedicated server while working on levels  (Read 906 times)

scornflake

• Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 1
    • View Profile
Best practice with dedicated server while working on levels
« on: April 01, 2017, 02:32:02 PM »
So, I have a game connecting to a standalone server on Mac now. Yay. That was easy :)

I'm very new to Unity / Game dev though.
What's the best practice when working on a level in Unity, that you'd like to have server connectivity for?

Sure, I can add a custom "AutoJoin" component, but I'd have to figure a way to not run that when connecting from the first scene (the connection screen)...  it seems, some kind of "conditional auto join" might be appropriate.

Am I heading down the right track with my thinking? Or have I missed something obvious?

cmifwdll

• Global Moderator
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 149
  • TNet Alchemist
    • View Profile
Re: Best practice with dedicated server while working on levels
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2017, 10:35:23 PM »
I'd handle server connection & channel joining on the main menu (or server browser or whatever).
As for creating the player, the AutoCreate component works well. Initialize your player in its Awake() or Start() function. I think there are some cases where marking your local player as DontDestroyOnLoad is a sound design, but it's probably best to just keep instantiating it on scene loads and having your initialization step load any "persistent" player data. Lately I've been serializing everything to JSON and using that locally, but using TNet's SetPlayerData(...) would probably work just as well.

scornflake

• Thank You
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2017, 07:12:38 PM »
I get the menu idea, which I'm planning on doing.