Author Topic: Camera depth Problems  (Read 3985 times)

taishsoft

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Camera depth Problems
« on: October 23, 2012, 04:48:13 AM »
1.In example 8,why the depth of "view camera" must be 2,my mean is why the depth of view camera must be higher than the depth of 2D UI.Is that any way to set the depth of "view camera" same as 2D UI.
2.In my project,I create many View Camera in order to set the layers.For example:
view camera 1:HUD-----depth 1
view camera 2:window-----depth 2
view camera 3:message box-----depth 3
view camera 4:tips-----depth 4
My problem is:the  efficiency is very low because of too many cameras,how to solve this?

ArenMook

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 337
  • -Receive: 1171
  • Posts: 22,128
  • Toronto, Canada
    • View Profile
Re: Camera depth Problems
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2012, 12:17:49 PM »
Why do you need so many cameras?

Make new panels and move them forward on the Z (-negative), not new cameras.

taishsoft

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: Camera depth Problems
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2012, 07:58:30 PM »
when there is a draggable camera,then add new panel doesn't work,how to solve this

dlewis

  • Guest
Re: Camera depth Problems
« Reply #3 on: October 23, 2012, 09:58:08 PM »
when there is a draggable camera,then add new panel doesn't work,how to solve this

Why are you using draggable camera instead of just a draggable panel?

taishsoft

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: Camera depth Problems
« Reply #4 on: October 23, 2012, 10:11:30 PM »
considering cross platform,I choose to use the secondary camera instead of draggable camera.
As shown in example 8(Scroll View(Camera)),I make new panels and move them forward on the Z (-negative), and it doesn't work.

ArenMook

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 337
  • -Receive: 1171
  • Posts: 22,128
  • Toronto, Canada
    • View Profile
Re: Camera depth Problems
« Reply #5 on: October 24, 2012, 12:44:58 AM »
There are a lot of limitations to the camera-based approach. Use the clipped panel approach instead. I don't understand your "cross-platform" requirement. Both approaches work just fine everywhere, but the clipped panel one will do what you want it to. It's not limited like the camera-based one.

taishsoft

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: Camera depth Problems
« Reply #6 on: October 24, 2012, 01:11:20 AM »
You mean the clipped panel approache work fine everywhere including Android platform?

ArenMook

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 337
  • -Receive: 1171
  • Posts: 22,128
  • Toronto, Canada
    • View Profile
Re: Camera depth Problems
« Reply #7 on: October 24, 2012, 01:11:55 AM »
As long as the device supports shaders, yes.

taishsoft

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: Camera depth Problems
« Reply #8 on: October 24, 2012, 01:28:25 AM »
Thanks! I look into the shader,as you say,as long as the device supports shader 1.0