Author Topic: [Question] Regards TNET - Sending / Recieving Data!  (Read 3830 times)

jangan

[Question] Regards TNET - Sending / Recieving Data!
« on: February 19, 2013, 12:51:39 PM »
Hi everyone, I just bought a copy of TNET and i am still new to this entire thing of networking... I have been coding for many years in Java so its hard adjusting 100% to .net standards.

I am building:
- Server [Almost complete] - So far connects directly to a local database!
- Client [Not yet started]

What i am trying to do:
1) Player enters username/password on client
2) Client sends the username/password to the server
3) Server checks if they are correct
4) Sends back true or false

What i am asking to help me with is:
- How do i do the last part? how do i send data using TNET, "please assume i am using standalone or unity" I know a fair amount of C# but not that good with unity!

I also didn't buy TNET to make money or anything, i was just interested in learning communication coding and was hoping this is a good place to start! I want to eventually be able to send data back and forth! Eventually encrypt data or make it one way! Etc :D

Please feel free to write example tiny codes explaining this part! I am seriously stuck :O

ArenMook

• Administrator
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 337
  • -Receive: 1171
  • Toronto, Canada
    • View Profile
Re: [Question] Regards TNET - Sending / Recieving Data!
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2013, 08:11:42 PM »
For any kind of authentication you will want to create your own custom packets that will be handled on the server. Add a new packet type to the TNet.Packet enum (or better yet -- a pair: request and response), and add handling for these packets to the appropriate place on the server and client. To send a custom packet, use BeginSend / EndSend.

I might add a built-in authentication logic if I can make it generic enough.

blueskined

• Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2013, 10:09:53 PM »