Author Topic: Close/unregister gameserver  (Read 2424 times)

voncarp

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 91
    • View Profile
Close/unregister gameserver
« on: March 27, 2015, 05:14:57 PM »
Following your advice on FAQ & Useful Info Q: How to set up a remote lobby server where users can register their own servers?

I am able to register a game server on the lobby and it shows on a remote pc.  How do I close/unregister it cleanly?

TNServerInstance.Stop(); shuts it down in the panel, but it doesn't seem to update on screen.

I'm using Starlink UI scripts and I can get the gameservers to register on an outside server and they will show up on screen as in the pic, but I can't seem to find wherein Starlink how to remove these registered gameservers. Even if I just turn off one of the devices.  The other device doesn't update. Do you know where I need to look?

Any suggestions would be appreciated.  Thanks.

« Last Edit: March 27, 2015, 06:08:16 PM by voncarp »

ArenMook

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 337
  • -Receive: 1171
  • Posts: 22,128
  • Toronto, Canada
    • View Profile
Re: Close/unregister gameserver
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2015, 11:35:06 PM »
Simply closing the server should unregister it if it's a TCP server. The latest Pro version of TNet (upcoming 2.0.5) also does periodic "are you still alive?" checks to ensure that stale servers don't remain on the list in the rare cases where servers abruptly closed their connection to the lobby. If you like I can give you 2.0.5 to try to see if it helps. Just PM me with your OR#.

voncarp

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 13
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 91
    • View Profile
Re: Close/unregister gameserver
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2015, 02:50:26 PM »
Thanks!  It shuts down in the console, it just doesn't update on the devices.  I think my issue is that I'm not using the Starlink scripts properly.  I'll need to continue to review those scripts.  Your Starlink package doesn't seem to have the internet buttons working as they are not highlighted as they are in LAN.

ArenMook

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 337
  • -Receive: 1171
  • Posts: 22,128
  • Toronto, Canada
    • View Profile
Re: Close/unregister gameserver
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2015, 01:57:44 AM »
To have internet function you'd need some common meeting place server. In Starlink I have a lobby hosted on my Amazon EC2 instance, but I didn't want it to be re-used for the starter kit, for obvious reasons. This is why Starlink sticks to LAN for server discovery, which is done using network broadcasts.