Author Topic: Anti-hacking and anti-pirating measures  (Read 4299 times)

sfbay

Anti-hacking and anti-pirating measures
« on: March 17, 2013, 01:59:16 PM »
Has anyone implemented anti-hacking measures at the server level? For example, when you develop a MMO virtual community mobile game with in-app purchase model, how do you prevent players with pirated/hacked apps?

I have C# experience but I'm new to game development. Any tips on this area is greatly appreciated. What features/measures do I need to add to the TNET? Would this be included in future TNET upgrades?

ArenMook

• Administrator
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 337
  • -Receive: 1171
  • Toronto, Canada
    • View Profile
Re: Anti-hacking and anti-pirating measures
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2013, 03:48:57 PM »
Every pirate that pirates your game and likes it pays for it with free advertising, spreading the word to other gamers, some of whom will then buy the game.

Piracy is a hugely overrated concern and more often than not it actually backfires, causing grief and frustration to legit gamers. Latest example of that -- Sim City.

Bottom line is: worry about making a great game first, and only once it becomes popular should you think about something to separate your legit gamers from pirates. Never harm pirates. Reward legit gamers instead with bonuses that pirates can't get.

ZJP

« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2013, 01:23:13 PM »
Every pirate that pirates your game and likes it pays for it with free advertising, spreading the word to other gamers, some of whom will then buy the game.

Piracy is a hugely overrated concern and more often than not it actually backfires, causing grief and frustration to legit gamers. Latest example of that -- Sim City.

Bottom line is: worry about making a great game first, and only once it becomes popular should you think about something to separate your legit gamers from pirates. Never harm pirates. Reward legit gamers instead with bonuses that pirates can't get.