Author Topic: Mac UIInput issues  (Read 1630 times)

Vesuvian

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Mac UIInput issues
« on: June 16, 2014, 06:01:24 AM »
Hey guys

I'm having trouble getting text input on Mac devices. The problems range from being unable to type into UIInputs to being unable to delete/backspace inputs.

I've done some googling and I've hit a number of threads from the past couple years:

2010 (potentially related?)
http://forum.unity3d.com/threads/gui-textfield-focus-kills-input-getkeydown-on-mac-but-not-on-pc.66714/

2012
http://www.tasharen.com/forum/index.php?topic=2324.0

2013
http://www.tasharen.com/forum/index.php?topic=4010.0

The general consensus seems to be that it's a problem with Unity, and that a mythical fix will eventually arrive. Unfortunately, given the age of the problem, I don't have much faith in this being patched any time soon.

Was anyone ever able to find a fix or workaround for these problems?

Thanks,
Ves

ArenMook

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 337
  • -Receive: 1171
  • Posts: 22,128
  • Toronto, Canada
    • View Profile
Re: Mac UIInput issues
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2014, 08:49:58 AM »
What's your version of Unity and NGUI?

Vesuvian

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: Mac UIInput issues
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2014, 11:08:47 AM »
We're currently on Unity Pro 4.5.0f6 and NGUI 3.5.9

Vesuvian

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: Mac UIInput issues
« Reply #3 on: June 16, 2014, 11:09:52 AM »
And I'm sorry, I can't believe I left this out, but this was specifically happening in webplayer builds. Tested in both Chrome and Safari.

ArenMook

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 337
  • -Receive: 1171
  • Posts: 22,128
  • Toronto, Canada
    • View Profile
Re: Mac UIInput issues
« Reply #4 on: June 17, 2014, 01:52:09 PM »
I wonder if the fix for this was lost at some point... Can you submit a bug report to Unity to remind them of the problem?