Author Topic: Ngui/TNet/StarlinkUI confustication  (Read 3086 times)

psion

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Ngui/TNet/StarlinkUI confustication
« on: February 04, 2015, 11:12:42 AM »
My project contains TNet, NGUI, and Starlink UI. Last build worked perfectly, then I updated TNet and Ngui and now I am getting

Assets/NGUI/Examples/Scripts/Other/LoadLevelOnClick.cs(12,37): error CS0117: `Application' does not contain a definition for `LoadLevel'
is this a namespace issue between assets?

Also, my main Game server is not showing up in clients anymore.

TNServer.exe is being run on a linux shell, all i did was upload the new zip, extract, and run the program exactly as I had with the previous TNet build, and now in my game client  I get "No Servers" instantly, as if it is being rejected. The server console shows "Guest" connected - which (I think) shows it isn't getting the player name from the Starlink UI. I am starting the server with TNServer.exe -tcp 5127 -tcpLobby 5128 -name "Geocore".



-Psion
« Last Edit: February 04, 2015, 12:05:52 PM by psion »

ArenMook

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 337
  • -Receive: 1171
  • Posts: 22,149
  • Toronto, Canada
    • View Profile
Re: Ngui/TNet/StarlinkUI confustication
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2015, 01:21:34 PM »
That error tells me that you have a class called "Application" which conflicts with UnityEngine.Application.

Rename your class to something unique.

psion

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Ngui/TNet/StarlinkUI confustication
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2015, 01:53:20 AM »
Unfortunately a search does not reveal a class of that name, I have seen this happen before with your assets and it's either an include or namespace related issue, but I am not skilled enough to track it down. Does the Starlink UI or NGUI need to be updated if I update TNet or any combination thereof?


Thanks!

-Psion

psion

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Ngui/TNet/StarlinkUI confustication
« Reply #3 on: February 06, 2015, 04:12:14 PM »
I removed and reinstalled all three packages and the error is gone, but I still don't see any servers in my list using TNet version 12. I am starting and stopping the v11 and v12 servers using a linux shell, and v11 still works fine with my TNet v11 build.

psion

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Ngui/TNet/StarlinkUI confustication
« Reply #4 on: February 06, 2015, 04:44:19 PM »
The Application error was caused by extracting the TNet server zip.

psion

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Ngui/TNet/StarlinkUI confustication
« Reply #5 on: February 06, 2015, 06:01:36 PM »
http://ctrlv.in/498858

Still not seeing servers using v12, but the server sees me. It sees me as Guest which might mean my chosen name isn't getting passed on?

ArenMook

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 337
  • -Receive: 1171
  • Posts: 22,149
  • Toronto, Canada
    • View Profile
Re: Ngui/TNet/StarlinkUI confustication
« Reply #6 on: February 06, 2015, 10:11:26 PM »
TNServer.zip's contents should be extracted outside the Assets folder, not inside it.

If you look closer at the UICreateServer script that's on the Create button, it uses this:
  1. TNServerInstance.Start(5127, 0, 5129, null);
As you can see the UDP port is not used, and the lobby port is 5129. Meanwhile you are starting your TNServer with a lobby port of 5128.

psion

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Ngui/TNet/StarlinkUI confustication
« Reply #7 on: February 07, 2015, 02:16:31 PM »
I adjusted the ports in that script to match my choice in ports. After returning it to default state I get the same result. Guest has connected in server console, no server in the game client  list. Also, the fact that it was showing Guest has connect shows that the ports were working as I had them assigned. Why isn't the server showing up if I am connected to it? I can't seem to find any version checks in the code that haven't been adjusted to show v12. I am at a loss here.
« Last Edit: February 07, 2015, 02:33:12 PM by psion »

ArenMook

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 337
  • -Receive: 1171
  • Posts: 22,149
  • Toronto, Canada
    • View Profile
Re: Ngui/TNet/StarlinkUI confustication
« Reply #8 on: February 08, 2015, 11:52:00 PM »
Clients connecting / disconnecting from the lobby server (5129) won't show up in the lobby server's window. Connecting to the game server (5127) is what will show up in the console log.

Did you try the examples that come with TNet? Run the TNServer.exe on one computer, watch it show up on the menu. Try that with both your devices.