Author Topic: Tasharen Water  (Read 140170 times)

uli

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Tasharen Water
« Reply #180 on: August 05, 2015, 03:35:14 PM »
I have the latest version from Unity asset store, which is 1.2 from February. Line 412 is
  1. #ifdef USING_DIRECTIONAL_LIGHT
  2.    o.Albedo *= fresnel;
  3. #else
  4.  
An update would be nice. I got it working now in xy plane with single color, next step would be to vary the color by depth I get from a depth texture, and also edge foam. Would save me some work if that's already done. I target mobile so I only need low quality without reflections, not even cube map. And since it's a rather 2D style game, with a static top down camera perspective (only the distance varies), I don't need fresnel as well. I removed all sub shaders except the low quality shader, and from that I removed fresnel calculation. And I also removed specular, because it didn't look good. I only got specular reflections in the bottom right corner, maybe I should have tried changing the light. I also deactivated the water script, since it's only for reflection calculation!?! So at the moment I only use the animated normal map, and with depth color and edge foam that's almost all I need :-)

ArenMook

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 337
  • -Receive: 1171
  • Posts: 22,128
  • Toronto, Canada
    • View Profile
Re: Tasharen Water
« Reply #181 on: August 08, 2015, 11:56:43 PM »
I was referring to the line in TasharenWater.cs, not the shader.

The water script does more than reflection calculations. It sets shader values, but if you've modified the shader yourself, whether you use them or not depends on your modifications.

uli

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Tasharen Water
« Reply #182 on: August 11, 2015, 04:23:29 PM »
No "#ifdef WINDWARD" in TasharenWater.cs either. 

ArenMook

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 337
  • -Receive: 1171
  • Posts: 22,128
  • Toronto, Canada
    • View Profile
Re: Tasharen Water
« Reply #183 on: August 14, 2015, 11:29:12 AM »
I'll put up an update shortly.

djemix

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Tasharen Water
« Reply #184 on: November 02, 2015, 07:59:16 AM »
Hello!!
I've purchased the asset today, and in the demo scene I see the water only pink.

Attach the screenshot.

What can I do?

It's a clean and new project with Unity 5.1.4f PRO

ArenMook

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 337
  • -Receive: 1171
  • Posts: 22,128
  • Toronto, Canada
    • View Profile
Re: Tasharen Water
« Reply #185 on: November 04, 2015, 01:46:23 PM »
Please import this package into a new project. You seem to have an "NGUI" layer there which implies you imported it into an existing project that has its own set of layers. Pink means a shader error -- what error do you see when you select the shader?

gensy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Tasharen Water
« Reply #186 on: November 20, 2015, 04:28:22 AM »
Hi, ArenMook, We also have the same problem with MainMe, our unity version is 4.6.6 and with the latest tasharen water, on samsung s6, when the camera x,z pos was 0, everything was ok, but when the camera move to large pos, the water was broken, just like the picture.

waiting for you to reply, thank you!

ArenMook

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 337
  • -Receive: 1171
  • Posts: 22,128
  • Toronto, Canada
    • View Profile
Re: Tasharen Water
« Reply #187 on: November 25, 2015, 06:39:29 PM »
It's likely a precision issue on mobiles. You can try opening the water shader and replacing all instances of "half" and "fixed" with "float" and see if that helps.

gensy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Tasharen Water
« Reply #188 on: November 26, 2015, 08:32:00 PM »
We tried it, but it didn't work. Did you met this problem on mobile before?

ArenMook

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 337
  • -Receive: 1171
  • Posts: 22,128
  • Toronto, Canada
    • View Profile
Re: Tasharen Water
« Reply #189 on: December 01, 2015, 08:19:55 AM »
No, it's device-specific. Mobile devices vary greatly, and hardware designers often take "shortcuts" that speed up their devices a bit at expense of issues like these.