Author Topic: Tasharen Water  (Read 69179 times)

bendikstang

  • Guest
Re: Tasharen Water
« Reply #30 on: February 12, 2013, 07:40:18 AM »
Hi, I would like to change the texture and tiling of the foam. I looked at the shader and the script, but could not immediately see where to edit to do this. Is the foam texture generated on runtime?

ArenMook

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 337
  • -Receive: 1171
  • Posts: 22,152
  • Toronto, Canada
    • View Profile
Re: Tasharen Water
« Reply #31 on: February 12, 2013, 09:17:55 AM »
Foam is in the Alpha channel of the water's normal map texture.

bendikstang

  • Guest
Re: Tasharen Water
« Reply #32 on: February 12, 2013, 01:38:33 PM »
Foam is in the Alpha channel of the water's normal map texture.

Ahh, so it was there it was hiding! Thanks. :-)

Gorgor

  • Guest
Re: Tasharen Water
« Reply #33 on: February 23, 2013, 06:26:49 AM »
Hi,
I just bought Tasharen Water on AssetStore. It is v1.9. After importing into project I can not see the water in the water demo scene:( I saw others had similar problems but I do not understand shader programming and I can not make it running. It is a desktop project, Unity 4.0.0 Pro, latest iMac27, no graphics emulation..
Changing Quality in TasharenWater script also does not help:(

http://cl.ly/image/2z1I3y3J0A2K

Thx for reply

ArenMook

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 337
  • -Receive: 1171
  • Posts: 22,152
  • Toronto, Canada
    • View Profile
Re: Tasharen Water
« Reply #34 on: February 23, 2013, 06:30:04 AM »
In the past I saw it caused by the ZWrite setting in the shader. Do a search for it in the shader and comment out all instances of its usage, see if that helps.

Gorgor

  • Guest
Re: Tasharen Water
« Reply #35 on: February 23, 2013, 07:13:18 AM »
No sure if I did what you suggest me to do. I found 'ZWrite' four times in the shader. I commented out all four occurrences like in the screenshot.

http://cl.ly/image/44282r2i3o0K

It does not help:(
I switch project to iOS Pro and it works.. when switching back to desktop it stops working:(
So I bravely tried to delete some subShaders in your shader and when I delete all subshaders but the last one 'Lod100' it works.. but if any other sub shader remains it is not working:(

EDIT:

In fact just deleting the third SubShader (Lod 200) helps the same way as deleting all subshaders but the fourth one..
btw: I know VERY little about shaders.. just trying to delete various parts and see what happens
« Last Edit: February 23, 2013, 08:21:23 AM by Gorgor »

ArenMook

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 337
  • -Receive: 1171
  • Posts: 22,152
  • Toronto, Canada
    • View Profile
Re: Tasharen Water
« Reply #36 on: February 23, 2013, 05:24:53 PM »
So the symptom is... Mac + Stand-Alone target using Unity 4.0?

Gorgor

  • Guest
Re: Tasharen Water
« Reply #37 on: February 23, 2013, 05:32:49 PM »
Yea, my configuration is iMac27 (OSX 10.8.2), NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680MX 2048 MB, StandAlone build, Unity Pro 4.0.0, Tasharen Water v1.9...

ArenMook

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 337
  • -Receive: 1171
  • Posts: 22,152
  • Toronto, Canada
    • View Profile
Re: Tasharen Water
« Reply #38 on: February 23, 2013, 06:29:47 PM »
Ok, I will install Unity 4 on one of my macs tomorrow and see if I can track down the issue.

ArenMook

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 337
  • -Receive: 1171
  • Posts: 22,152
  • Toronto, Canada
    • View Profile
Re: Tasharen Water
« Reply #39 on: February 24, 2013, 10:56:09 AM »
I have identified and fixed the issue. 1.10 has the fix.

Gorgor

  • Guest
Re: Tasharen Water
« Reply #40 on: February 24, 2013, 11:24:04 AM »
I can confirm the fix!
Thanks for such a quick update.

hexart

  • Guest
Re: Tasharen Water
« Reply #41 on: March 05, 2013, 02:52:05 AM »
This is the TasharenWater effect which I used on Mac platform.
I opened the demo scene, the scene view is relatively normal, but when I click run, both the scene view and the game view shows the darken color of the water.
When I reposition the camera into a certain height, it shows the gradient step on the water.
I bought the newest plugin v1.10 in Unity assets store.

Help.
It's better if the wave speed and the wave depth and specular can be adjusted.
BTW, the water shader is quite difference between the ship starter kit, I wish use the shader option looks like this(except color bitmap):
« Last Edit: March 05, 2013, 02:55:30 AM by hexart »

ArenMook

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 337
  • -Receive: 1171
  • Posts: 22,152
  • Toronto, Canada
    • View Profile
Re: Tasharen Water
« Reply #42 on: March 05, 2013, 12:27:55 PM »
Darker color suggests you have lights disabled in the scene view. If that's not the case, then I will need to know more details such as your videocard, version of Unity, etc. Steps you see is a depth buffer issue on the mac, it's Unity-related. It should only be like that in the scene view. Game view should look correct.
« Last Edit: March 05, 2013, 12:31:35 PM by ArenMook »

hexart

  • Guest
Re: Tasharen Water
« Reply #43 on: March 05, 2013, 04:33:54 PM »
The pic I snapped is the project demo scene, so it's definitely not light issue.
I found that in the demo scene, the color of the water is affected by animation, so it's not affect by color adjustment.

I tried several times, found that the water is good in my scene. But, since how I use the camera is usually a underground camera, so the wave strength effect is not so good. Especially if the light is too dark, the gloss can not be seen in some angle.

Yes, I'm asking for too much, wish you don't mind. ;D

My unity version is unity3D pro 4.0.1f2
I used 2 different macs, one's video card is HD3000, the other is GTX660Ti.
« Last Edit: March 05, 2013, 08:34:46 PM by hexart »

hexart

  • Guest
Re: Tasharen Water
« Reply #44 on: March 05, 2013, 11:33:38 PM »
Here we can see, there's only refraction distortion but no reflection distortion. That's different from the shader in "ship starter kit" package.