Author Topic: Context sensitive menus in 3.5.7  (Read 4368 times)

pretender

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 155
    • View Profile
Context sensitive menus in 3.5.7
« on: November 25, 2013, 09:23:09 AM »
HI!
I tried to bring up context sensitive menus like you described in the video. At first it did not work but than started to appear but everything is grayed out. I can't select anything. Is this due to using unity 3.5.7? Is it supposed to work or no?

Thanks! Btw great update!

PaulGregory

  • Guest
Re: Context sensitive menus in 3.5.7
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2013, 10:08:35 AM »
I get grayed out menus in 4.3.0. It would be useful to know under what circumstances they are supposed to work.

ArenMook

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 337
  • -Receive: 1171
  • Posts: 22,128
  • Toronto, Canada
    • View Profile
Re: Context sensitive menus in 3.5.7
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2013, 06:22:47 PM »
The menus are context sensitive. If they can't be used on the component, they may be grayed out. What are you trying to use them on and which ones are greyed out?

pretender

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 155
    • View Profile
Re: Context sensitive menus in 3.5.7
« Reply #3 on: November 26, 2013, 02:04:50 AM »
left click on button/sprite in scene view gives me menu with these grayed out options (they are the same wherever i right click)

-Selected sprite >
--------------------
-Create            >
-Attach            >
-Tween            >
-Select            >
--------------------
-Help              >

ArenMook

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 337
  • -Receive: 1171
  • Posts: 22,128
  • Toronto, Canada
    • View Profile
Re: Context sensitive menus in 3.5.7
« Reply #4 on: November 26, 2013, 03:18:18 AM »
Err... hum. I was actually working in Unity 3.5.7 when adding this feature. Works on both 3.5.7 and 4.3.0 here. What other packages do you guys have? Maybe they are conflicting?

pretender

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 155
    • View Profile
Re: Context sensitive menus in 3.5.7
« Reply #5 on: November 26, 2013, 03:29:16 AM »
Hi! Thanks for looking into this, there are less and less developers bothering to make things work with Unity 3.5.7
I made empty project with only new version of NGUI, i opened one of the example scenes just to make sure I am not missing something. I click on the widget in the scene and right click (when released) gives me greyed out menu.

I am using MacOS though, just to let you know. Good to hear that it's working on your system with Unity 3.5.7, then it is possible to make it work on my system to.

Great update. Thanks!

ArenMook

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 337
  • -Receive: 1171
  • Posts: 22,128
  • Toronto, Canada
    • View Profile
Re: Context sensitive menus in 3.5.7
« Reply #6 on: November 26, 2013, 03:31:35 AM »
Hmm. I am running Windows here. Maybe there is something different with how menus are handled on OSX? I'll have a look.

PaulGregory

  • Guest
Re: Context sensitive menus in 3.5.7
« Reply #7 on: November 26, 2013, 05:28:47 AM »
I'm on MacOS too. Still an issue with NGUI 3.0.6f2.

I'm trying to rebuild all my scroll views, and got stuck on "select the panel you want to be your scroll view and right-click anywhere in the Scene View to bring up the context menu, then choose Attach -> Scroll View." I select the panel in the hierarchy and no matter where I right click in the Scene View I get a menu with everything grayed out. If I select something that is not a panel (eg a Label) I get nothing on right click.

I haven't used context menus from any other package.

ArenMook

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 337
  • -Receive: 1171
  • Posts: 22,128
  • Toronto, Canada
    • View Profile
Re: Context sensitive menus in 3.5.7
« Reply #8 on: November 26, 2013, 05:29:39 AM »
I'll have a look into it shortly.

ArenMook

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 337
  • -Receive: 1171
  • Posts: 22,128
  • Toronto, Canada
    • View Profile
Re: Context sensitive menus in 3.5.7
« Reply #9 on: November 26, 2013, 06:07:39 AM »
Alright, looks like there is a bug with Unity's handling of separators on OSX. I've removed separators on OSX and the menu now works correctly. 3.0.6f3 has the fix.

PaulGregory

  • Guest
Re: Context sensitive menus in 3.5.7
« Reply #10 on: November 26, 2013, 06:55:07 AM »
I can confirm that 3.0.6f3 works great for me in 4.3.0. Thank you!

pretender

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 155
    • View Profile
Re: Context sensitive menus in 3.5.7
« Reply #11 on: November 26, 2013, 07:41:26 AM »
Ok! Pro is to expensive for me so I will have to wait until asset store version is available

pretender

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 155
    • View Profile
Re: Context sensitive menus in 3.5.7
« Reply #12 on: November 26, 2013, 07:52:50 AM »
Hey, it is already on asset store! Thanks, I tried it and it works great now!