Author Topic: UI Starter Kit: Starlink (NGUI + TNet)  (Read 77485 times)

sonicviz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 58
    • View Profile
Re: UI Starter Kit: Starlink (NGUI + TNet)
« Reply #105 on: July 04, 2014, 10:11:55 PM »
I think last time I looked it was using the old deprecated anchor system and I think I noticed something else like that but can't recall off the top off my head.

ArenMook

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 337
  • -Receive: 1171
  • Posts: 22,128
  • Toronto, Canada
    • View Profile
Re: UI Starter Kit: Starlink (NGUI + TNet)
« Reply #106 on: July 05, 2014, 11:24:42 PM »
You just reminded me why I should fix that deprecated anchor regression issue introduced in the last version. :)

I'll revisit the UI kit in the near future.

dustinwloring1988

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: UI Starter Kit: Starlink (NGUI + TNet)
« Reply #107 on: January 18, 2015, 09:29:45 PM »
get the following error any idea
im using the latest version on NGUI and unity 4.5.5
Assets/StarlinkUI/Scripts/Custom/UI/UIOptionCaps.cs(20,46): error CS0117: `Localization' does not contain a definition for `instance'
Assets/StarlinkUI/Scripts/Custom/UI/UIOptionCaps.cs(30,30): error CS0117: `Localization' does not contain a definition for `instance'

thanks
dustin

ArenMook

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 337
  • -Receive: 1171
  • Posts: 22,128
  • Toronto, Canada
    • View Profile
Re: UI Starter Kit: Starlink (NGUI + TNet)
« Reply #108 on: January 19, 2015, 12:10:19 PM »
You need to update your UI Starter Kit. It doesn't use Localization.instance anywhere.

ricky

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: UI Starter Kit: Starlink (NGUI + TNet)
« Reply #109 on: August 15, 2015, 05:41:17 AM »
sorry to revisit the lan issue again, but i'm having problem like previous user who made about 10 posts regarding the subject.

In the video, you click on Lan, start lan, then join the lan as host and it takes you to the next screen for game settings.

https://youtu.be/nNDKr716MT8?t=8m43s

That is not happening.

Followed step by step instructions, and can't get lan to work properly.  The lan window shows the server listed, when clicking on it, it says there is 1 client connected, when 2nd client clicks on it, it says there are 2 clients.

Neither the host or the client is sent to the next step.

Reiterating, the video shows the host start lan game, then, connect to it's own lan game, then immediately after connecting by clicking the server listed, the following occurs:

+Join Game
+Create
+New Game
Loads "Game Scene"

The current asset store package, never makes it to Join Game window, it just refreshes Server List window with number of clients connected to the LAN server that is made.

There are no errors displayed.

ArenMook

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 337
  • -Receive: 1171
  • Posts: 22,128
  • Toronto, Canada
    • View Profile
Re: UI Starter Kit: Starlink (NGUI + TNet)
« Reply #110 on: August 15, 2015, 11:14:23 PM »
Did you add the scenes to the build list?

ricky

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: UI Starter Kit: Starlink (NGUI + TNet)
« Reply #111 on: August 21, 2015, 09:39:34 AM »
yes i did, and it's still not working at all.  Is there any way you can explain what is supposed to be happening, behind the scenes, when you click that lan server join?  Or can I show you on twitch in a live demo of the event, and what's going on?

ricky

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: UI Starter Kit: Starlink (NGUI + TNet)
« Reply #112 on: August 21, 2015, 09:51:32 AM »
Did you add the scenes to the build list?

here is a screenshot of what is going on:


ricky

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: UI Starter Kit: Starlink (NGUI + TNet)
« Reply #113 on: August 21, 2015, 10:16:34 AM »
wow, i just randomly found the solution and better yet why the problem exists in the first place and I believe it's all in the order in which you import the packages.  Especially since this is an 'example' asset on how to use, this may be important for anyone else who runs into this problem.

Steps to reproduce:
Start with new empty project
Import Starlink UI project
Import NGUI
Open Menu scene
Import TNET starlink addon (menu scene will now reload)

..... Although compilation hasn't finished due to not having imported TNET yet, the problem might occur here.....

Import TNET.

Aftercompilation, an assignment is missing on one of the menu items.



Since I had never seen the asset before, how was I to know an assignment was missing there?  The misleading part was, there is nothing in the code on the actual button you press that would indicate the action is to be performed somewhere else, in another script and the script is attached to a completely different game object.

If I import TNET first before doing any other step, then import Starlink/TNET Integration/NGUI, there are no issues.

=D

Bradamante3D

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 2
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
Re: UI Starter Kit: Starlink (NGUI + TNet)
« Reply #114 on: March 22, 2016, 09:12:44 AM »
Hi,

are there any plans for updating the Starter Kit: Starlink for TNet 3? I bought Starlink UI a while ago (and the Space Game Starter Kit for that matter) and I think both are still valid learning material. I guess I don't want to see my purchases invalidated I guess.

Any plans?
#301224014, #301432336, #302399130

ArenMook

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 337
  • -Receive: 1171
  • Posts: 22,128
  • Toronto, Canada
    • View Profile
Re: UI Starter Kit: Starlink (NGUI + TNet)
« Reply #115 on: March 24, 2016, 03:12:37 AM »
I'll add it to the TODO list.

Bill.Smock

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 6
  • -Receive: 2
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: UI Starter Kit: Starlink (NGUI + TNet)
« Reply #116 on: June 07, 2016, 08:17:04 PM »
My internet lobby list is including the main TNet Server instance that is running on EC2.  Should I simply exclude this by name or is there another way you would recommend?  (this lobby was set up as detailed on pages 5-6).  Amazing how easy it is, considering I have no experience with any of this and it took all of 2.5 hours. 



edit:  thanks for updating to TNet3 :)

ArenMook

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 337
  • -Receive: 1171
  • Posts: 22,128
  • Toronto, Canada
    • View Profile
Re: UI Starter Kit: Starlink (NGUI + TNet)
« Reply #117 on: June 09, 2016, 02:57:12 PM »
Start your lobby server without running the game server.
  1. TNServer.exe -name "Lobby" -tcpLobby 5123

Sarper

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 5
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: UI Starter Kit: Starlink (NGUI + TNet)
« Reply #118 on: June 22, 2017, 08:20:54 AM »
I'll add it to the TODO list.

Any news on updating the Starlink to work with TNet3? Purchased it before it was free, would love to use it to learn more about Tnet3.

ArenMook

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 337
  • -Receive: 1171
  • Posts: 22,128
  • Toronto, Canada
    • View Profile
Re: UI Starter Kit: Starlink (NGUI + TNet)
« Reply #119 on: June 27, 2017, 12:06:22 PM »
Starlink UI kit has been updated to use TNet3 a year and a half ago, so I am not sure what you're asking...